Justine's books

Last Sacrifice
My Soul to Take
My Soul to Save
My Soul to Keep
My Soul to Steal
Wings
Spells
Illusions
Sing Me to Sleep
Girl Stays in the Picture
The Eternal Ones
Beastly
Ash
Huntress
Secret Society
The Trust
Ascendant
Rampant
0.4
Fairy Tale


Justine's favorite books »

Monday, 30 December 2013

Review #193, 194 & 195: The Hunt Trilogy- Andrew Fukuda


Title: The Hunt
Pages: 293
Rating: 5/5 Stars
Summary: Don't Sweat. Don't Laugh. Don't draw attention to yourself. And most of all, whatever you do, do not fall in love with one of them.
Gene is different from everyone else around him. He can't run with lightning speed, sunlight doesn't hurt him and he doesn't have an unquenchable lust for blood. Gene is a human, and he knows the rules. Keep the truth a secret. It's the only way to stay alive in a world of night-a world where humans are considered a delicacy and hunted for their blood.
When he's chosen for a once in a lifetime opportunity to hunt the last remaining humans, Gene's carefully constructed life begins to crumble around him. He's thrust into the path of a girl who makes him feel things he never thought possible-and into a ruthless pack of hunters whose suspicions about his true nature are growing. Now that Gene has finally found something worth fighting for, his need to survive is stronger than ever-but is it worth the cost of his humanity?
For the first time in paperback,Andrew Fukuda's The Hunt is the opening book in a stunning, standout YA series that's perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.
Review: Okay, so I won this book, book two & book three from Goodreads First Reads and I had the perfect opportunity to read them when I joined the Christmas Book-Tube-a-thon on Youtube, twitter, etc.
OMFG!! What did I just read? My mind is blown!! This book is so friggin intense! Like heart pounding, nail biting, sitting on the edge of my seat, I want to pee my pants kind of book! There is action on every page! This book had twists and turns around every corner and I was forever being surprised.
These characters were awesome! Gene never gave up, even when his future looked black. When he met other humans he always put them above himself and would try to help them no matter what. Ashley Jean was also an interesting character. I’m surprised she actually lasted as long as she did. LOL I just don’t know how they didn’t know about each other sooner.
I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy to see where their store goes. What a rude way to end a book! LOL. Like a giant secret was exposed!! Just craziness! I would recommend this novel to lovers of both paranormal/sci-fi and dystopian.




Title: The Prey
Pages: 304
Rating: 4/5 Stars
Summary: For Gene and the remaining humans—or hepers—death is just a heartbeat away. On the run and hunted by society, they must find a way to survive in The Vast... and avoid the hungry predators tracking them in the dark. But they’re not the only things following Gene. He’s haunted by the girl he left behind and his burgeoning feelings for Sissy, the human girl at his side.

When they discover a refuge of exiled humans living high in the mountains, Gene and his friends think they’re finally safe. Led by a group of intensely secretive elders, the civilisation begins to raise more questions than answers. A strict code of behaviour is the rule, harsh punishments are meted out, young men are nowhere to be found—and Gene begins to wonder if the world they’ve entered is just as evil as the one they left behind. As life at the refuge grows more perilous, he and Sissy only grow closer. In an increasingly violent world, all they have is each other... if they can only stay alive.
Review: I received this book free from Goodreads First Reads in exchange for an honest review. This was the second book that I chose to read for the Christmas Book-tube-a-thon. The Prey is also the second book I have gotten to enjoy by the amazing Andrew Fukuda. Now, I have to admit, I didn’t find this installment as good as book one. I just didn’t find it had as much action, it was more giving the background story which would have been okay if book one hadn’t been so amazing. In this book I noticed Gene cared about himself and his safety more. Obviously you would have yourself survive but really? At least pretend you want to help them. Sissy is more concerned about others safety. I like her better. LOL. Another great book from Andrew Fukuda. I would recommend this book to dystopian and paranormal readers.



Title: The Trap
Pages: 320
Rating: 4/5 Stars
Summary: From author Andrew Fukuda comes The Trap, the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy—perfect for fans of The Hunger Games!

After barely escaping the Mission alive, Gene and Sissy face an impossible task: staying alive long enough to stop an entire world bent on their destruction. Bound on a train heading into the unknown with the surviving Mission girls, Gene, Sissy, David, and Epap must stick together and use everything they have to protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again. Now that they know how to reverse the virus, Gene and Sissy have one final chance to save those they love and create a better life for themselves. But as they struggle to get there, Gene's mission sets him on a crash course with Ashley June, his first love . . . and his deadliest enemy.
Review: I won this book from Goodreads First Reads in exchange for an honest review. This is also my third read in the Christmas Booktube-a-thon challenge. 
Again this novel carried on from where the second book left off. And again, this book wasn’t as good as the first. The biggest reason for me was “WTF was that ending?!?”. Is it just me, or does it feel like Andrew Fukuda got bored and wrote a shit ending? Like there was so much potential and then “LAME”. I feel like it was a huge cop out on his part. I still had so many questions. Like what happened to Gene’s father, for real? Where did Ben go? Did they ever meet up? Did they repopulate? Gah!! So frustrating! But despite this, The Hunt was a good read and I would recommend it to other dystopian and paranormal lovers. But I would stop after the first book lol. Maybe he will have a spin, no HOPEFULLY he will make a spin off so then I will know what the hell happened to them.



About this author

Born in Manhattan and raised in Hong Kong, Andrew Fukuda is half-Chinese, half-Japanese. After earning a bachelor's degree in history from Cornell University, Fukuda worked in Manhattan's Chinatown with the immigrant teen community. That experience led to the writing of Crossing, his debut novel that was selected by ALA Booklist as an Editor's Choice, Top Ten First Novel, and Top Ten Crime Novel in 2010. His second novel, The Hunt, the first in a new series, was bought at auction by St. Martin's Press and will be published in May 2012. Before becoming a full time writer, Fukuda was a criminal prosecutor for seven years. He currently resides on Long Island, New York, with his family.

From the author's website.

No comments:

Post a Comment